Another loss last night at San Francisco. Make that 6 in a row, 5 of the losses to the awful Padres and Giants. The Phillies are cementing their lock on the overall No. 1 draft pick next June.
The Phillies area total hot mess. Their pitching staff is young and in shambles. Zach Eflin has a sore shoulder after getting shelled last night. Too bad. Nice kid. But it looks like he will always be hurt, first knee problems now arm ailments.
Those once prized pitching prospects have sucked for the most part. Jake Thompson, Ben Lively, even Nick Pivetta, who seems the best of the lot, has his problems. Aaron Nola looks like the real deal, otherwise the organization has either over-evaluated their talent or the pitching coaches are really awful.
It's a disgrace, even on the road, to lose to San Diego and San Francisco. We are seeing,without Aaron Altherr and Odubel Herrera, the line-up is challenged. Tommy Joseph is lost and is proving himself to be the average player he is. Mychal Franco is hitting under .230 and swings at the first pitch all the time. Cesar Hernandez and Freddie Galvis look tired. Rhys Hoskins is playing out of position. Jorge Alfaro has defensive problems but at least he's the future compared to Cameron Rupp. The bullpen, starting with Pinto and Ramos, are not consistent and continue to struggle.
Otherwise the team is great.
They are on a pace to lose 105 games, the most since 1961. Pete Mackanin will be fired. Matt Klentak should be fired. Andy MacFailure is no where to be found, hiding in a bunker with owner John Middleton.
Once school begins and the Eagles'season starts,w ill anybody be at Citizens Bank Park or watch these bums on TV?
I'm the biggest Phillies fan there is, yet I can't stand this group. The only hope is a fresh start next spring, focusing on youngsters like Hoskins, Kingery, Alfaro and Williams.
Don't forget, the Phils still have games left with the world champion Cubs and the red-hot Dodgers. They are going to lose well over 100 games,which is an embarrassment. Philly fans deserve better.
* Hope on the horizon is Mike Trout. He was at the Eagles' pre-season game Thursday night vs Buffalo. Trout's Angels ar eon an east Coast swing, and LA happened to be off on Thursday. So, to trout's credit, he was at the Linc watching his Birds.
Trout will be a Phillie someday. It's just too perfect of a match. This organization needs a face of the franchise,a hometown hero who happens to be one of the greatest players in baseball, now nd in the past.
Problem is, it won't happen until the 2021 season when trout will still be a young 29 years old. Maybe trout can ask for a trade to the Phillies before then? The Phils can afford him. Do they have what it takes to trade for a guy like Trout? Kletak has a history with the Angels' organization. So it can happen.
it probably won't So Trout is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, 3 years away. Getting there will be a tough, rough road, but it will be well worth it.
* Hopefully Marcus Hayes or Kevin Cooney or Todd Zelecki or one of the other shills of the Phillies' organization and Klentak will step up and finally rip this horrible team. Stop kicking Klentak's ass and start being real with the fans and tell it like it is- changes need to be made, starting the day after the season mercifully ends.
No comments:
Post a Comment